Everything You Need to Know About Good and Bad Fats

Fats are an essential part of our diets, but not all are created equal. Some types can be beneficial to our health, while others can be harmful. Here’s everything you need to know about good and bad fats:

There are four main types of dietary fat: saturated, monounsaturated, polyunsaturated, and trans.

  • Saturated: Foods such as meat, butter, and cheese from animal sources contain saturated fats that remain solid at room temperature, and some plant-based products like coconut oil and palm oil also have them.
  • Monounsaturated: Foods like nuts, seeds, avocado, and olive oil contain monounsaturated fats that usually remain in liquid form at room temperature.
  • Polyunsaturated: Foods such as fatty fish, nuts, seeds, and vegetable oils contain polyunsaturated fats, which usually remain in liquid form at room temperature.
  • Trans: The process of hydrogenation turns liquid oils into solid fats, creating trans fats, which are typically present in processed foods like baked goods, snack foods, and fried foods. Eating a diet high in trans can increase the risk of heart disease.

They are a type of unsaturated fat that comes in two forms naturally occurring in the meat and dairy from ruminant animals (cattle, sheep & goats) & artificially made through a process of hydrogenation.

Fried foods, baked goods, stick margarines, and other spreads often contain them. Eating a diet high in trans-fat increases the bad cholesterol level and one’s risk of heart disease.

Good Fats:

  1. Monounsaturated: These fats are found in foods like nuts, seeds, avocados, and olive oil. They can help lower bad cholesterol levels and reduce the risk of heart disease.
  1. Polyunsaturated: These fats are found in foods like fatty fish, flaxseeds, and walnuts. They contain omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids, which are important for brain health, reducing inflammation, and reducing the risk of heart disease.
  1. Omega-3 Fatty Acids: These are a type of polyunsaturated fat that are found in fatty fish like salmon, sardines, and tuna. They can help reduce inflammation, improve brain function, and reduce the risk of heart disease.

Bad Fats:

  1. Saturated: Meat, cheese, and butter are sources of these fats. They can raise bad cholesterol levels and increase the risk of heart disease.
  1. Trans: Processed foods like fried foods, baked goods, and snack foods contain these fats. They can raise bad cholesterol levels and increase the risk of heart disease.

Having enough dietary fats in the diet is important for staying healthy. These are important as they provide the body with its needed energy to function.

Other essential functions that it contributes include helping the body absorb some nutrients (vitamins A, D, E & K), produce important hormones, and they play an essential part in heart health. In addition, they also add flavor to our food and keep one feel satisfied longer after a meal.

Hence, it is important to include good fats in our daily diet. Here are some ways that one can doto incorporate them in the diet:

  • Cook with healthy oils: Replace butter or vegetable oil with healthier oils like olive oil, coconut oil, or avocado oil.
  • Add nuts and seeds to your diet: Nuts and seeds are a great source of healthy fiber, and protein. You can add them to your salads, smoothies, or eat them as a snack.
  • Eat more fatty fish: Fatty fish like salmon, tuna, and mackerel are rich in omega-3 fatty acids, which are essential for brain function and heart health.
  • Use avocado: Avocado is a great source of healthy monounsaturated fats. You can add avocado to your salads, sandwiches, or smoothies.
  • Choose lean meats: If you eat meat, choose lean cuts of meat like chicken, turkey, or pork. These meats contain less saturated fat than red meat.
  • Incorporate plant-based fats: Plant-based like coconut, nuts, and seeds are rich in healthy fats. You can incorporate them into your diet by using coconut milk in your smoothies or adding nuts and seeds to your salads.

The American Heart Association recommends that adults aim to get 5-10% of their daily calories from saturated fats, less than 1% from trans fats, and the rest from monounsaturated and polyunsaturated fats.

Remember that the key to a healthy diet is balance. Incorporating good fats into your diet is important, but you should also limit your intake of bad fats like. Aim to eat a variety of whole foods that provide your body with the nutrients it needs to function properly.

In conclusion, good fats such as monounsaturated and polyunsaturated can be beneficial to our health, while bad fats such as saturated and trans can be harmful.

By making simple changes to your diet, such as incorporating more nuts, seeds, fatty fish, and vegetable oils while limiting processed foods, baked goods, and fried foods, you can improve your overall health and reduce your risk of chronic diseases such as heart disease.

It pays to be informed

By making small changes to our diet, like incorporating more nuts, seeds, and healthy oils, we can improve our heart health, reduce inflammation, and lower the risk of chronic diseases like heart disease.

Start taking care of your heart today with!

Schedule a consultation now and download the Medgate app today via Appstore or Google Play, You can also reach us through Facebook Messenger or by calling the numbers provided below. 

Landline: 84241737
Globe: 09175362156
Smart: 09190580500

Available 24/7 and on holidays, ready to give the gift that comforts.